Citation Information
The Bluebook by Call Number: Reference KF245 .B58 2017ISBN: 9780692400197Publication Date: 2015-06-25
- APA Style Blog: LegalCiting court decisions in APA format
- Chicago Style Legal/GovernmentQuick guide to using Chicago. Also check Chapter 14 in the manual available online.
Campus Resources
Highlighted Books from the Library
LSAT Prep Plus 2024: Strategies for Every Section + Real LSAT Questions + Online by Call Number: KF285.Z9 L7765 2024ISBN: 9781506290973Publication Date: 2024
How to Be Sort of Happy in Law School by Call Number: Online EbookISBN: 9780804799768Publication Date: 2018
The Language of Law School: Learning to Think Like a Lawyer by Call Number: Online EbookISBN: 9780195182866Publication Date: 2007
Legal Writing in Plain English, Third Edition by Call Number: KF250 .G373 2023ISBN: 9780226816548Publication Date: 2023
The Lawyer's Calling: Christian Faith and Legal Practice by Call Number: KF298 .A43 1996ISBN: 0809136511Publication Date: 1996
Redeeming Law: Christian Calling and the Legal Profession by Call Number: Online EbookISBN: 9780830825998Publication Date: 2007
The Servant Lawyer: Facing the Challenges of Christian Faith in Everyday Law Practice by Call Number: KF299.C47 C63 2023ISBN: 9781514007228Publication Date: 2023
Databases
- Criminal Justice Abstracts w/ Full-Text This link opens in a new windowAbstracts of current books, book chapters, journal articles, government reports, and dissertations published worldwide related to criminal justice.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowComplete back runs of scholarly journals beginning with the first issues and continuing to within 3-5 years of the present.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowCoverage of hundreds of journals and reports in the fields of communication and mass media.
- Business Source Elite This link opens in a new windowDatabase that provides many full text articles for virtually all subject areas related to business.
- OYEZa free law project from Cornell’s Legal Information Institute (LII), Justia, and Chicago-Kent College of Law—is a multimedia archive devoted to making the Supreme Court of the United States accessible to everyone. It is the most complete and authoritative source for all of the Court’s audio since the installation of a recording system in October 1955. Oyez offers transcript-synchronized and searchable audio, plain-English case summaries, illustrated decision information, and full-text Supreme Court opinions (through Justia). Oyez also provides detailed information on every justice throughout the Court’s history and offers a panoramic tour of the Supreme Court building, including the chambers of several justices.
- U.S. Department of JusticeTo enforce the law and defend the interests of the United States according to the law; to ensure public safety against threats foreign and domestic; to provide federal leadership in preventing and controlling crime; to seek just punishment for those guilty of unlawful behavior; and to ensure fair and impartial administration of justice for all Americans.
Pre-Law Advisor
D. Kelly Phipps, J.D., Messiah University’s law school advisor, is available to meet with any student—undergraduate or graduate—who is interested in attending law school upon graduation. Kelly is on campus for limited hours each week, and appointments are necessary. Please contact Allyson Patton at apatton@messiah.edu to schedule a meeting.
Ask a Question!
Research Help:
Email: library@messiah.edu
Murray Librarians can:
- Determine your information needs
- Plan a research strategy
- Find information
- Evaluate information
- Identify credible and scholarly sources
- Cite and manage information
- Ethically use information
Murray Library Circulation Desk:
Phone: (717) 691-6006, ext. 3860
Email: CirculationDesk@messiah.edu
Contact for help with accessing your account, renewing, returns, and fines/fees.